19th Duggar Baby Finally Home

Discussion in 'Off The Beaten Track' started by ilovepaydays, Jun 30, 2010.

1. ilovepaydays

ilovepaydays Well-Known Member

Yahoo! TV article

Great for them. I saw an episode where Josie went to their Little Rock apartment and then had to return to Arkansas Children's two days later.

I can't imagine how frightening it is to have any premature baby - especially that early. BTW, I was born at 32 weeks and I am also a graduate of Arkansas Children's NICU (Class of 1980 BABY!! :) ).

Though she still only weigh 9 lbs at six months old - but my mom has told me that with premie babies - and with me - it takes a year for them to "catch up" to the growth of what a normal term baby would do.

I also can't believe that the Duggars went through 12 kids having the chicken pox. :eek:

2. nubka

nubka Well-Known Member

Good for baby Josie! I wonder if there will be a #20 down the road for the Duggars...

3. Winnipeg

Winnipeg Well-Known Member

It's certainly great to hear the baby is healthy and doig well.

However, I still question the judgement of having so many kids. Seems unfair to the kids

4. Lanie

Lanie Well-Known Member

Preemies aren't often caught up until two years old. I was a micropreemie (1lb 7oz at 26 weeks) and in the NICU for 8 months, and in and out of the hospital constantly until I was two. Not surprising Josie was back in.

5. orbitz

orbitz Well-Known Member

You Betcha!

6. ilovepaydays

I am no medical expert, but I would think that after having 2 babies with a C-sections in that short time period, they should at least take some time to recover before having another. Isn't it dangerous for a woman to have a baby so quickly after a c-section?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Duggar_family
    18 Jordyn-Grace Makiya December 18, 2008(2008-12-18) Birth via C-section
    19 Josie Brooklyn December 10, 2009(2009-12-10) Birth via emergency C-section, featured in a TLC special