PDA

View Full Version : Are you in favor of Armed Gaurds in Schools?

Pages : [1] 2

FSWer
03-30-2013, 12:24 AM
Ok,they have been talking about this on the News. So I thought I would try turning it into a Thread. But..in the aftermath oth the Sandy Hook School Shooting..are you in favor of Armed Gaurds in Schools?

Buzz
03-30-2013, 08:06 AM
I say hire Art teachers instead of armed guards.

DAngel
03-30-2013, 08:20 AM
:lol:

To Art teachers :40beers:

PeterG
03-30-2013, 06:53 PM
MAKE ART NOT WAR!!! :cheer2: :cheer:

PrincessLeppard
03-30-2013, 11:31 PM
Okay, I'm a teacher, so I'll answer this the best I can. For about seven years, my school (I teach high school) had a police officer in the school and he carried a gun. And a taser. The kids were more frightened of the taser, interestingly. I don't like guns, but I'd like to assume (though I know I could be utterly wrong) that are cops are pretty well trained in gun use, and I wasn't worried about him shooting anyone.

I would worry a bit more about an armed security guard, because sometimes (not always!) security guards are cop wannabes who didn't make the cut, and I would prefer that those people not have access to anything more dangerous than string.

And also remember, there was an armed officer at Columbine, for all the good that did.

So I guess my point is, am I in favor of armed guards in schools? No. But having one in my school wasn't some big trauma, either.

heckles
03-31-2013, 12:54 AM
If we start arming gaurds, it's only fair to arm pumpkins too.

Rob
03-31-2013, 02:27 AM
Gourds?

heckles
03-31-2013, 03:00 AM
Gourds?

Glad someone got it. :)

Wyliefan
03-31-2013, 06:48 PM
I say hire Art teachers instead of armed guards.

What, because it's easy to take down a shooter with a paintbrush?

Or were you thinking of that "draw a gun" bit from Looney Tunes?

Wiery
03-31-2013, 08:38 PM