PDA

View Full Version : Two-time Men's Olympic Champion challenges credibility of World F.S. Hall of Fame

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Visaliakid
03-11-2012, 04:01 PM
Dick Button to boycott his vote for World Figure Skating Hall of Fame 2012 nominees: Open Letter Challenges HOF leadership on lack of transparency and integrity.

Read his open letter to World Figure Skating Hall of Fame leadership published this morning at Blazing Blades (http://kwantifiable.xanga.com/759751532/two-time-mens-olympic-champion-challenges-credibility-of-world-figure-skating-hall-of-fame/).

BigB08822
03-11-2012, 04:14 PM
Oh, snap! Gotta love him. His point about Bianchetti is shocking. Sounds like they took her off for personal reasons or to favor someone else, she nearly won last year!

~tapdancer~
03-11-2012, 04:19 PM
Interesting read. I have no informed knowledge of his complaints but they sound like legitimate concerns.

Visaliakid
03-11-2012, 04:39 PM
This decision by Mr. Button not only is based on solid facts (which he explains in his letter), but it must be painful for him in that he wants to vote for Michelle Kwan's election to the WHOF as well as the other nominees. He also made it clear in an aside to me that this not in direct support of Sonia Bianchetti's apparent blackballing from being nominated, but rather having more to do with the WHOF's leadership arbitrary decision making on how nominations are handled and improper procedures followed.

I admire Mr. Button's courage and conviction to stand up publicly on these issues. He is really challenging the USFSA connection to the World Hall of Fame and all the corrupting politics it brings with it.

I encourage everyone to read this. Kudos to Mr. Button!

bek
03-11-2012, 04:59 PM
The World Hall of Fame should not be run by the USFSA and I've always questioned it when a team like G/P is not in it.

skatesindreams
03-11-2012, 05:06 PM
I admire his stance on this.