PDA

View Full Version : Reverse Mortgage/empty house

OrioleBeagle
12-12-2011, 01:09 PM
Across the street in our townhouse development is an empty house. The owners retired and moved back to Canada. When it rains hard it floods into the neighbors basement (especially if there is a power outage). The power is shut off in the empty house so there is no electricity to run the sump pump. Assuming that it was a foreclosure, the neighbor contacted their mortgage company. A few weeks later, the mortgage company sent someone out to investigate. The neighbor found out from the investigator that it is NOT a foreclosure and that the owners had done a reverse mortgage. Does it violate the terms of a reverse mortgage to leave the house unoccupied?

Who is liable for the damage to her home?

milanessa
12-12-2011, 01:17 PM
I'm no expert but my next step would be to contact my property insurance agent. They should know who's liable. Was this going on when her neighbors lived there? Did she complain to them then?

If I was her I wouldn't worry about their reverse mortgage and whether or not they're in violation of it - she ought to be concentrating on the damage and getting fixed. The other is really none of her business.

OrioleBeagle
12-12-2011, 01:24 PM
I was also wondering if an empty house would nullify the home insurance.

milanessa
12-12-2011, 01:31 PM

I repeat - she needs to contact her own insurance company. Believe me, they don't want to pay and they have the resources to sort out the legal details.

suep1963
12-12-2011, 03:45 PM
The home that you have the reverse mortgage is suppose to be your primary residence, and you need to sign a paper every year declaring that you are living there.

attyfan
12-12-2011, 04:02 PM