PDA

View Full Version : Any Other Big 4 Accountants Here? (Current/Former)

asdf334
09-17-2011, 08:46 PM
I'm pretty much a lurker here, but I thought what the heck, I'll throw this question out there and see what kind of a response I get!

As the title of the thread indicates, I'm an accountant with one of the Big 4 firms. I've been at this job for four years, and seem to increasingly find myself questioning 'why'? For me, it's mostly the hours. Six months out of the year, I'm working 80 hour weeks and I feel like I've finally had enough of it. I actually don't mind the work I'm doing, like my engagement teams, and feel that I'm still growing/developing professionally. What's making this a tough call for me at this point is a few things:

1. If I stick it out for another year or two, I could potentially make manager, which is what is recommended in the professions since that makes a big difference in the $/opportunities you can command upon leaving.

2. Other than the hours, I really don't have too many complaints.

3. With the economy, I know it's not going to be easy to find something else.

So now, it's survey time. In addition to the questions below, feel free to leave any other comments, advice, etc.

If you're a current employee...

1. What's keeping you there?

2. Have you thought about leaving, and if so, why?

3. If you left the Big 4 world previously to do something else, and then came back, why?

If you're a former employee...

1. What was your reason for leaving?

2. Do you have any regrets about leaving from a professional perspective?

3. If you had to do it over again, would you still take the job?

Thanks!

snoopy
09-17-2011, 09:35 PM
1. If I stick it out for another year or two, I could potentially make manager, which is what is recommended in the professions since that makes a big difference in the $/opportunities you can command upon leaving.