PDA

View Full Version : Students paid $100,000 NOT to go to College

Pages : [1] 2

missflick
06-03-2011, 10:48 PM
http://ca.news.yahoo.com/blogs/good-news/students-paid-100-000-not-college-200920592.html

BigB08822
06-03-2011, 11:08 PM
Incredibly mis leading title, they aren't just sitting at home. They got a JOB. College is incredibly overvalued right now and I completely agree that is a giant bubble waiting to burst. The only reason I went back to my degree is because I couldn't get a job teaching without it. Children go to college without a clue of what they want to do with their life and waste so much time and money. I think students should wait and go when they know what they want to do. I know some figure it out while in college and that is great but from my experience the MAJORITY of people I know are either not using their degree at all or got a job with their degree but not in their area of study.

Prancer
06-03-2011, 11:50 PM
from my experience the MAJORITY of people I know are either not using their degree at all or got a job with their degree but not in their area of study.

Most college graduates with nonprofessional degrees will work in a field that has nothing at all to do with their college majors within seven years of graduation, so it's not just you :).

Theil has made quite a fuss about the college bubble (and to some degree, rightly so), but he always neglects to mention that he and the company that are putting up this seed money get partial ownership of all the kiddies' companies and the products they make for years to come. He's not in this to make a point about higher ed.

mila19
06-04-2011, 12:11 AM