PDA

View Full Version : Jump Combination Question

Pages : [1] 2

Macassar88
02-18-2011, 11:25 PM
I'm not sure if this is the right forum section, but I am relatively new to Figure Skating (I used to just watch the Olympics and Worlds occasionally)
I don't really know much about the specific rules with Jump connections.

How is a Jump Connection given difficulty? I remember something about adding the two jumps, but is that it? What about having a half loop? Also, how many jumps can be stringed together and still be considered a combination? And what about GOEs?
Thanks

HisWeirness
02-19-2011, 05:06 AM
Here is a quick reply. Others can give more details.

How is a Jump Connection given difficulty?
The IJS (international judging system) assigns each jump a certain number of points. More points = more difficult.

There are two types of jump series:

1. Jump Combinations
In a jump combination the landing foot of a jump is the take off foot of the next jump. A three turn on one foot between the jumps without touching the ice with the free foot (or even with a touch, but no weight transfer) keeps the element in the frame of this definition allowing still to call it a combination (with an error).
If the jumps are connected with a non-listed jump, the element is called as a jump sequence. However half-loop when used in combinations/sequences is considered as a listed jump with the Value of a Loop. If the first jump of a two-jump-combination fails to be successful and turns out as a “non-listed jump”, the unit will still be considered as a jump combination.

2. Jump Sequences