PDA

View Full Version : facebook etiquette

Pages : [1] 2

backspin
10-10-2010, 02:59 AM
For those of you on fb--I'm quite sure this has happened to you too--how do you deal with it?

I really want fb to be about keeping tabs on & keeping in touch with ACTUAL friends & family--People I know & care about.

However, as I'm sure all you have experienced, I keep getting friend requests from people who fall outside that definition! Sometimes it's clients (I'm a freelance designer). I feel I cannot ignore those as they may take it personally. So I accept those, which means sometimes I have to be very careful about what I post, and sometimes I exclude those people from a post if it is more personal.

Then there are the ones I went to high school with (apparently), who I have absolutely no recollection of, and don't even remember their name. This can at least be figured out by the 'mutual friends' thing, which helps you figure out how they even know who you are.

THEN there are the people who happened to attend the same networking dinner as me 2 months ago. We did not meet, we did not speak, we were not introduced. But, they did pick up my business card, and now *bang* I get a friend request on fb.

What do you do with these scenarios? Up until now I've simply accepted them, & hid them (I don't know you, I don't need to hear about your dog/kids/job/whatever). However that doesn't keep them from seeing all my posts, & it's a pain to have to select each time who sees what.

I've been looking at the profiles of some of these "friends". Some of them have 200+ friend connections, and I'm certain would never miss me if I dropped off their list. So I'm thinking of "unfriending" some, figuring I won't be hurting feelings if they don't even realize I'm not on their list anymore.

What do you do? How do you handle this kind of stuff? I know for some people on fb, it's "he who dies with the most friends wins" but I'm not one of those.

jp1andonly
10-10-2010, 03:03 AM